Taming the Cravings

I know it can be tough when it comes to the cravings especially for potato chips, chocolate, pasta, rice,and anything crunchy or sweet.  How bout eating really bad ass tasty food that satisfy your body’s needs, hence the physical cravings slow? 

You notice I do not say they stop absolutely? I haven’t been able to get to that level, yet. But slowing them can be achieved with larger portions of cruciferous vegetables and healthy fats. See this article in the Journal of Nutrition – It is a fascinating read.  You can take a ton away from the outcomes of this study and apply them to your program,  What I have found is that there is a correlation between the healthy fats (comfort component of food) and craving suppression.  What did you take from it?

There is a quote that Chris McCandless said to Ron Franz in the book “Into the Wild” that has had a profound impact on my life.  I know this book is not generally viewed as an inspirational book, but I read it cover to cover and was deeply inspired.  I often refer back to it.  It really helped me get started with my weight loss journey which really was the genesis for my new lifestyle. Here it is as relayed by John Krakuaer:

“So many people live within unhappy circumstances and yet will not take the initiative to change their situation because they are conditioned to a life of security, conformity, and conservatism, all of which may appear to give one peace of mind, but in reality nothing is more dangerous to the adventurous spirit within a man than a secure future. The very basic core of a man’s living spirit is his passion for adventure. The joy of life comes from our encounters with new experiences, and hence there is no greater joy than to have an endlessly changing horizon, for each day to have a new and different sun.”
Jon Krakauer, Into the Wild

So the Minnesota starvation experiment is not something I am recommending, but learning about nutrient and delivery is what I am.  Once learned the practicing of nutrient delivery and timing everyday, and using things like nut butter, avocados, and tons o’ veggies to curb cravings,  gaining healthy muscle is so much more attainable.

As for the McCandless quote,  the latest “passion for the future” what I am embarking on is the creation of  a video library of my most delicious “Leanergetix Program” recipes.  The adventure is discovering how to make them quick, inexpensive, and extra-specially tasty. And of course find the time to prepare them so I can share them with others.

Also, people often ask me about the cool handmade Salt and Pepper ramekins grandpa made me for cooking that would allow easy access to seasoning. Almost everything I cook gets it so it is invaluable asset.  So I have decided to sell them on the inter webs.
If you would like one let me know and I will have trapper Bill whip you one up- cclaunch@leanergetix.com 208-615-LEAN.  You know I had to eventually sell something, as cooking and writing all day is not particularly profitable. 8.95 + shipping unless you buy 5 than shipping is free.

Oh, make sure you give these as gifts before 12/21/2012 as you will want your friends and family to have a chance to use them before Armageddon is upon us.

I would love to hear some comments about your thoughts on the inspiration.

2 thoughts on “Taming the Cravings

  1. I'm not interrested in the bowls but could use a little advice on pure cocoa powder, is it okay to use in cookings for "The Program"? If your answer is YES, then I will check back in with a kick ass chocolate pudding desert that will knock your socks off.., no sugar, no salt etc etc. this is for real and includes one of your(Crusher) favorite veggies/fruits(not sure if it is a fruit or veggie). Either way, let me help you help me ! ! !

  2. yes pure cocoa powder is awesome, however when eating dark chocolate (85% Cocoa or above) you should be tracking calories and eat it as carbs and fiber in your calorie restricted, tracked, plan. I do not recommend it for the Program, or Program Plus, but for the Masters Program there is a place. Share on!

Leave a Reply

